The Congress

The Congrès is the supreme bodyof the Conference. It is composed of all themember juridic tions. It meets in ordinary session once every two (2) years.

The President of the Conference shall preside over the Congress. The presidency of the Conference shall be held alternately every two (2) years by the constitutional courts, members of the Conference, on a rotating basis considering the regional distribution in force of the African Union, after consultation, where appropriate, with the jurisdiction concerned.

The Executive Board

The Executive Board meets once a year in ordinary session upon convocation of its President in the country of the jurisdiction that holds the presidency of the Congress. It may meet in extraordinary session at the request of a majority of its members.

The Executive Board shall consist of a Chairperson, five (5) Vice-Chairpersons read on a rotating basis considering the regional distribution in force at the African Union.

At the end of the work of the fifth (5th) Congress of the CJCA which was held in Luanda - Angola from June 10 to 13, 2019, the general assembly elected a new Executive Board whose mission is to ensure the execution of the biannual program 2019 -2021 adopted by the Congress.

The Bureau is composed of the following jurisdictions:

President of the CJCA: The Constitutional Court of Angola (Southern Africa);

1stVice-president: The Constitutional Court of Morocco (Host of the 6th Congress);

Vice-President: The High Constitutional Court of Egypt (North Africa);

Vice-president: The Constitutional Council of Cameroon (Central Africa);

Vice-Chair: The Constitutional Council of Ethiopia (East Africa)

Vice-President: The Supreme Court of Seychelles (Indian Ocean)

Vice-President: The Constitutional Court of Mali (West Africa)

Vice President: The Supreme Court of Kenya

Vice President: The Supreme Court of Zimbabwe

Ex officio member: The Constitutional Court of South Africa (past President).

Ex officio member: The Constitutional Council of Algeria (Country of the seat).

The mandate of the Bureau is two years, its renewal will take place on the occasion of the next Congress of the CJCA, scheduled for November 2022.


The General Secretariat

The General Secretariat shall be the administrative organ of the Conference. It is headed by a Secretary General and a Permanent Secretary General. The Secretary General shall beread by a simple majority of the members of Congress for a term of two (2) years renewable once. It shall beread among the judges or any other person in a court which is a member of the Conference, outside the country of the seat.

The Permanent Secretary General comes from the country of the headquarters and performs his duties on a full-time basis.

The Treasurer is appointed by the jurisdiction of the country of the seat.