Central African Republic: a new Constitutional Council and a new designation of its members

The new members of the Constitutional Council were sworn in on Friday March 22 in Bangui. With the new Constitution, the method of appointment has changed and this new Council replaces the Constitutional Court, established in 2016.

In accordance with the new Constitution of August 30, 2023, the method of designation has changed. From nine judges elected by their peers, in corporations, we go to eleven members, five of whom are elected. Three are chosen by the head of state, three others by the president of the National Assembly.

Their mandates increase from 7 to 9 years. The outgoing president, Jean-Pierre Waboué and Inès Valérie Waby-Bekaï, two outgoing members, are retained.

Now sworn in, this new team made up of magistrates, lawyers and law professors will have the task of electing a president and a vice-president in the coming days.